PDA

View Full Version : Possible Clickbank Phishing Scam - About Payment Methods



Tahir
December 20th, 2007, 08:56 AM
Hi all,

This is my...err well second post to the forum, but I only joined
after finding a post about new payment option from clickbank.

I received the email too... But I don't think it's legit.

I could be wrong... but my senses tell me its a scam.

DON'T Give your bank details without knowing for sure!!

Here's the email:


Subject: New payment option for your ClickBank account


Dear Valued Client,

Tired of paying wire fees of $35 per wire to receive your ClickBank account payments via wire? Sick of having to convert your funds to your local currency after receiving US dollars from ClickBank?

Well, ClickBank is pleased to offer a new service, International Direct Deposit (XACH), for direct deposit of your ClickBank account payments in select countries! XACH offers a fast and reliable method for direct deposit of your account payments in your local currency. Best of all, XACH is offered at no extra charge, including conversion to your home currency which is done at published market rates. This saves you money as it eliminates the current $35 banking charge per wire.

What information do we need to get you setup to receive XACH? To start XACH, we need your bank Account Number, and the International Routing Code for your bank. You should be able to get both of these items from your bank. Please note that the International Routing Code is NOT the same as a SWIFT or IBAN code.

Please click on (or copy and paste) the link below to download a text file regarding the format of International Routing Codes, as they vary by country. Be sure to let us know all of your ClickBank accounts that you want setup to receive XACH. Deadlines to receive the information are as follows:
-For payments sent at mid-month, your information must be received prior to the 8th of the month.
-For payments sent at month-end, your information must be received prior to the 23rd of the month.

Here's how the timeline for XACH payment works. For periods ending on the 1st of the month (for example, the 12-01 period), XACH payments are sent on the 15th of the same month (the same day a paper check would have been mailed). If the 15th falls on a weekend or holiday, then the XACH payment will be sent on the first business day following the weekend/holiday.

For periods ending on the 15th of the month (for example, the 12-16 period), XACH payments are sent on the last day of the same month (the same day a paper check would have been mailed). If the last day of the month falls on a weekend or holiday, then the XACH payment will be sent on the first business day following the weekend/holiday.

Once sent, XACH payments take only a few days to reach your account, depending on what country your account is in. Specifically, payments take 1-2 days for Canada, 2-3 days for Australia, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Mexico, The Netherlands, and New Zealand, 3-4 days for Austria, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom, and 4-5 days for Spain

If you have any further questions, please contact us!

Regards,

ClickBank Accounting


The email address this was sent from is:

paychecks@clickbank.messages3.com


THAT HAS SEVERE WARNING SIGNALS for me...

I'd check and double check with clickbank first and make sure
that the email has come from them before giving your bank details.

I'll check with my contact at CB and let you know for sure later today
hopefully.

Warmest Regards,

Tahir

dog_24
December 20th, 2007, 09:55 AM
Wow, It does look like a scam, it's good that you pointed that out, we need someone from CB to make sure about it. I didn't receive that email.

Mpio
December 20th, 2007, 10:29 AM
There is no indication on Clickbanks website that this Payment Feature is in place.

I received the Email, but deleted it.

Perhaps Miles and Lev can contact Clickbank and Clarify.

For now, don't F*ck with your CB Accounts in any way.

Additionally, NEVER open up any Hyperlinks that may accompany these types of messages. NEVER.

ewealthy
December 20th, 2007, 10:47 AM
This must be some scam because because there is not a single note on clickbank website with regards to this new system.

Messages like these are always posted in either the NEWS or RELEASE SUMMARIES section on clickbank.

pixels
December 20th, 2007, 11:53 AM
If this is a phishing email then it is very worrying.. because i've received this email to my unpublished clickbank email address... it would indicate that some serious hackers are behind this...

a_jane
December 20th, 2007, 12:41 PM
Please rest assured that there is no cause for concern. The email listed above is legitimate and is a new payment option that we are offering clients. If you have any questions please email paychecks@clickbank.com for further information.

Thank You,

Ashley
ClickBank Client Support
www.ClickBank.com

nebula1
December 20th, 2007, 01:04 PM
Please rest assured that there is no cause for concern. The email listed above is legitimate and is a new payment option that we are offering clients. If you have any questions please email paychecks@clickbank.com for further information.

Thank You,

Ashley
ClickBank Client Support
www.ClickBank.com

Its Ashley!

Hi Ashley! :) :)

Tahir
December 20th, 2007, 06:51 PM
Hey Guys,

Turns out the email IS legit.

Spoke with Laura from accounting in CB and I see that
Ashley has posted here too confirming it's legit.

Okay... Guess CB need to learn a few things when
it comes to sending emails out to marketers.

Wrap lines of text so that the email doesn't look
amateur or written by a scam artist.

Put a contact name and direct email address at the
bottom of the emails rather than contact us with any
further questions - which suggests reply to the
same "dodgy looking" email account.

And maybe set up an autoresponder that comes straight
from "payments @ clickbank" not from what "looks like"
a potentially dodgy email account trying to pass itself
off as clickbank.

It's certainly the first time I've seen that email address
and with it ending message3.com no savvy marketer
is going to want to open an attatchment or link that
looks like it's from a phishing email.

Alternatively... a warning email letting people know that
they will receive an email about this... that comes directly
from the Clickbank.com email address would have helped,
rather than an email (not often you get one from CB in the
first place) out of the blue.

I just wonder how many people deleted the emails as one
poster above said he did when he received it.

Anyway... there's a message in this... in today's age where
people are being scammed left right and center online, those
of us who want to ensure we are not putting our hard earned
money into the hands of crooks are not going to divulge our
bank details willy nilly.

And companies like Clickbank need to put more thought to
how their messages will be received by people who not only
want to protect themselves but also their own subscribers
or affiliates or JV partners if they think an email looks dodgy.

End of Rant.

Tahir

Mpio
December 20th, 2007, 09:46 PM
CB has their share of issues like any other company.

I would prefer that they inform us of everything that they do, especially concerning issues that could potentially be perceived as being Fraudulent. However, such is not always the case.

I think they will be a little more Proactive with respect to these matters from now on.

They are getting better at keeping us informed. Not perfect, obviously, but better.

:)

myolay21
December 20th, 2007, 10:41 PM
Is there any requirement to get that email and new payment option??

TheMusclehead
December 23rd, 2007, 06:44 AM
Whoa, had my heart racing for a second :)

Never entered my mind that it could be a scam.

dbullet007
February 7th, 2008, 01:36 PM
WOW, after seeing that email address... I would have dismissed the message as a scam for sure. Can't believe Clickbank didn't realize this

Miles Baker
February 7th, 2008, 05:08 PM
Please rest assured that there is no cause for concern. The email listed above is legitimate and is a new payment option that we are offering clients. If you have any questions please email paychecks@clickbank.com for further information.

Thank You,

Ashley
ClickBank Client Support
www.ClickBank.com

Thanks Ashley for clarifying! Also, welcome to eWealth!