PDA

View Full Version : When to Toss A Keyword?



woofytalk
August 15th, 2007, 09:52 AM
I have begun an adwords campaign and would like to hear some opinions on when to toss a keyword.

If a keyword receives 150 clicks with no conversions, is it time to toss the keyword?

example:

-The keyword has a max CPC of .15

-after 150 clicks you've paid $22.50

-A single conversion of your product pays you $26.00

Is it time to toss the keyword after 150 clicks?

Is this a good method for determining when to dispose of keywords?

Thanks,
Jay :afro:

hyderkhan
August 15th, 2007, 10:07 AM
How many impressions? What is your CTR (click-thru-rate)?
And what is the average position of your ad?

JerryMarketing
August 15th, 2007, 11:08 AM
Assuming conversion rate is 1%

I'll usually toss a keyword which has not generated any sales after 300 clicks

woofytalk
August 15th, 2007, 12:19 PM
Let's assume a fair environment

average rank 5th in google

average ctr 2.5 %

-Jay :afro:

woofytalk
August 15th, 2007, 12:20 PM
Assuming conversion rate is 1%

I'll usually toss a keyword which has not generated any sales after 300 clicks

hey digitalraves

can you make that more granular?

meaning, can you break down the numbers

300 clicks

1% conversion

what's the cpc?

what's the example product commission?

-Jay

JerryMarketing
August 15th, 2007, 01:36 PM
I always assume conversion to be 1%

So if a clickbank product pays $30
1% would be 0.3, So i'll bid $0.3 for the keywords

If after 200-300 clicks for a particular keyword and it doesn't convert, i'll delete it..

And if a particular keyword is converting at 3% consistantly, i'll increase the CPC to 3% * $30 = $0.9

I try to trim and update my campaign as regularly as i can. Tracking is damn important if you wanna do PPC marketing.

Hope this help..

woofytalk
August 15th, 2007, 02:27 PM
Wow. Thank you digitalraves that really clarifies things and gives me a forumlated bidding strategy to work from.

i'm sure there are many people on this forum with different methods in obtaining optimal bid pricing, but now i have at least 1 method.

Also, this at least gives my bidding some rational thought behind it.

thanks a lot. i'll let you know my results in a couple of weeks.

Jay :afro:

JerryMarketing
August 15th, 2007, 02:36 PM
all the best! (:

woofytalk
August 15th, 2007, 02:37 PM
What about impressions?


At what point do you toss a keyword due to inactivity? If a keyword has 500 impressions and no clicks is it time to toss the keyword?

What about 200 impressions and no clicks? Do you toss the keyword?

How do you guys determine your threshold for tossing a keyword due to inactivity?

They're hurting CTR, so when do you pull the trigger on these buggers?

-Jay :afro:

hyderkhan
August 15th, 2007, 09:31 PM
I always assume conversion to be 1%

So if a clickbank product pays $30
1% would be 0.3, So i'll bid $0.3 for the keywords

If after 200-300 clicks for a particular keyword and it doesn't convert, i'll delete it..

And if a particular keyword is converting at 3% consistantly, i'll increase the CPC to 3% * $30 = $0.9

I try to trim and update my campaign as regularly as i can. Tracking is damn important if you wanna do PPC marketing.

Hope this help..

DigitalRaves,

Interesting strategy for setting up your max bid... but how do you know that by using this formula, that your keywords are going to show up on the first page of the Google results? What if the 0.30 (in the example above) renders your ad to be in position number 11 through 15??

Redzone
August 16th, 2007, 01:32 AM
What happens if it's just a "bad" day for that keyword? You might get 300 clicks on that keyword and no sales but the next day you might get 5 sales.

I especially notice that sales are down on the weekends so that could be a factor too.

hyderkhan
August 16th, 2007, 01:36 AM
What happens if it's just a "bad" day for that keyword? You might get 300 clicks on that keyword and no sales but the next day you might get 5 sales.

I especially notice that sales are down on the weekends so that could be a factor too.

There is some merit to the possibility of having a "bad day". Also it is noteworthy that (depending on your product niche) people are more likely to browse and / or shop for products on the Internet during certain days of the week or times than others.

BoogalooDude
August 16th, 2007, 05:43 AM
I toss a keyword when it hasn't converted but it's cost me what a conversion would have made me. In other words, I would break even at best. So I do it on ROI.

Yes I suppose you can have bad days but a keyword that doesn't convert in 150 clicks isn't suddenly going to start converting at 3% IMO, but, if that 150 clicks has only cost you half what a sale would make, let it run a while, see what happens, it might still be profitable. That's an unusual situation though.

Since conversions are x/100, I think that once you've had a 100 clicks, you've got a rough idea how any keyword is going to perform long term. Let it run for a 1000 clicks and you know exactly how it'll perform long term but how much has that cost you if it turns out to be a duff keyword? So I wouldn't do it by clicks.

BoogalooDude
August 16th, 2007, 05:50 AM
Also it is noteworthy that (depending on your product niche) people are more likely to browse and / or shop for products on the Internet during certain days of the week or times than others.

True but why would someone click on an ad that has no interest for them? Why would the ad even be appearing to them unless they searched for what it's selling?

If the ads getting clicks and not converting, it's usually for a different reason.

I think it's possible that you might get a day when all your visitors are careful 'like to think about it before buying then change their minds' types that cost you a fortune in clicks without any sales but that would be a statistical anomaly.

woofytalk
August 16th, 2007, 08:15 AM
Any thoughts on my question regarding impressions vs clicks?




What about impressions?


At what point do you toss a keyword due to inactivity? If a keyword has 500 impressions and no clicks is it time to toss the keyword?

What about 200 impressions and no clicks? Do you toss the keyword?

How do you guys determine your threshold for tossing a keyword due to inactivity?

They're hurting CTR, so when do you pull the trigger on these buggers?





-Jay

hyderkhan
August 16th, 2007, 10:27 AM
DigitalRaves,

Interesting strategy for setting up your max bid... but how do you know that by using this formula, that your keywords are going to show up on the first page of the Google results? What if the 0.30 (in the example above) renders your ad to be in position number 11 through 15??

Your strategy, if I understand correctly, is that if your product will earn you $25.00 for one sale, that you should expect to make one sale for every one hundred clicks. Therefore, you are setting your maximum cost per click to be $25.00 / 100 = $0.25... In other words, you would expect to drop the keyword if you aren't able to at least break even after 100 clicks.

But my question is = What if that CPC (cost per click, which in this case is $0.25) is not high enough to get you on the top search results? What if the highest bidder is paying $1.00 for their clicks to get ranked as #1?

What then? Or, are you basically saying that you don't care what your rank is... You just want to get 100 clicks?

And are you setting a specific time limit? eg) 100 clicks PER every 24 hours... Or is it "100 clicks per no matter how long it takes"?

JerryMarketing
August 16th, 2007, 11:46 AM
I usually don't like my keywords to list outside of the 1st 8 position therefore i use position preference in my campaign.

If it cost $1 to be rank at the 8th position and the product only pays $25.. I doubt you will be able to sustain advertising using the keyword.

I'll either make the keyword into a longer tail or drop it totally.

You can however try for 100 clicks at $1 (if you do not have budget constraint), if it doesn't convert.. drop it..

Jerry